Awards for North Forsyth Artists


The Scholastic Art and Writing Award Ceremony was an eye opening peek into the world of creativity.

For 91 years, the Scholastic Art and Writing Awards at Savannah College of Art and Design have recognized the exceptional vision of our nation’s youth, providing a unique opportunity for students to be recognized for their creative talents. Since being founded in 1923, the awards have showcased the early promise of some of our nation’s most exceptional visionaries. Notable award recipients include artists Andy Warhol, Philip Pearlstein and Cy Twombly; writers Sylvia Plath, Truman Capote and Joyce Carol Oates; photographers Richard Avedon and others; actors Frances Farmer, Robert Redford, Alan Arkin and John Lithgow; filmmakers Stan Brakhage, Ken Burns and Ned Vizzini. All forms of creative media are accepted whether it be, drawing, writing, photography, and sculpting.
The ceremony was a unique experience. An awe-inspiring art gallery was set up in the main room. Waiters circled carrying trays of hors d’oeuvres and drinks. Art plastered on every wall, writing presented on tablets; this presentation was surely a sight to behold. Announcers recognized the Gold and Silver Key award winners as well as the American Voices nominees. The American Voice awards were presented to the best writers of the pool, Gold Keys were presented to the extremely close seconds, and the Silver Keys were presented to the third place writers. Only 200 students out of the entire state of Georgia were honored with the Gold Key Awards and only 200 Georgia students were honored with Silver Key Awards. Less than that was chosen for the American Voices nominations.
Our school was honored multiple times in these categories. Gold Key Winners from our school are, Bim Peacock and Rebekah Schnaubelt. Our Silver Key Winners are, Rayanne Griffith, Raicheal Havins, Isabella Higgins, Ismita Hussain, Andrea Martin, Jessica Prouty, and Emily Starling. Honorable Mentions, while not invited to the ceremony, were given an award also. The winners mentioned are, Tara Bailey, Abigail Black, Ashleigh Brown, Allen Carter, Jack Dalmolin, Reilly Deckard, Caroline Duckworth, Jack Fleming, Emma Franklin, Ismita Hussain, Savannah Keith, Joley Odom, Sam Perryman, John Scott, Cailtin Shelby, Benjamin Strube, Noelle Walker, and Owen Wickman. The first student in North Forsyth history to win an American Voice nomination is Bim Peacock.
All of those that attended the ceremony were gifted a $500 scholarship to the week-long summer programs that includes, art and writing seminars. This honor placed a new spotlight on our school.